60. wrap threads of red silk around me


we, too, had gotten it all wrong more than once in our lives. we ran from desire instead of running towards it. disbelieved what mathematical induction could not prove, but what remains quite true: every pain, in every measure, can be counter-balanced by pleasure.

and i, the jagged tremor in your heart, the slight pause in your groan, am weak, for how many times i have surrendered to the illusion of lust?
but i shall find an excuse worth loving, a sentence worth of praise.

i am a woman. 
no, a girl.
but more than that, i cannot feel complete unless i am a pool, half-full, passion rising to the surface, black oil floating on translucent water. 

my heart is a pool collecting rivulets of desire in its basin, each drop – the sacred elixir of life. yes, i’ve changed. i used to say why be a man’s wife if you can be his mistress and now i’d rather say nothing at all.
now, i love you and you alone, but –

always a but-

i need the scarlet light to fall upon my form, if only to show off the violent carmine of my bullfighter’s cape.

my whole life is contained in the balance of virginal white and the shade of moonlight casting its fragile rays on lovers in the night. those colours merge to form my blood.
scarlet like the summer bloom of red roses, half-concealed by the shadows of rising sun.

and as i yearn for the chains of desire, wrap threads of red silk around me, dream me up sordid dreams.
i love you as you are, even if sometimes that’s not how it seems.

7 responses to “60. wrap threads of red silk around me

  1. encore! encore! you are such a prolific writer glit!

  2. Beautiful!

  3. Your writing is like a magic spell. It’s very hypnotic to me. You express feelings so well that I feel like I’m reading my own mind…if that even makes sense :)

  4. i agree with Coin & Feather. your writing is very hypnotic! you don’t know how refreshing this is to read you after reading the SAME TIRED THING over and over in my Facebook poetry group. and then here you are, so fresh and mesmerizing and original. i love your passion and your talent, i really do.

    this particular blog entry ranks among my favorites, not just of yours, but among all i’ve ever read.

    keep writing, keep living. you are a gift.

Leave a Reply

