white roses


talk me of happiness,
of women i have been,
of anything that makes your heart pound
a hundred miles an hour /
and breathe me a life
i’ve given you for free
so i inhale the oxygen i’ve stolen from myself  /
to fire my synapses
in this elusive chain reaction /

i’m lost
and i have been lost
all my life /
in me,
in all the things you see,
in the frozen whiteness all around me /

so slash my neck
and paint me black /
so hold me tight
and bring me white /

roses.

13 responses to “white roses

  1. Intense! Love the white/black imagery!

  2. moondustwriter

    love the revelation and the hope

    Lovely my dear

    Moonie hugs

  3. the emotion and imagery you packed into this piece is astounding. your penning is beautiful. so happy i read.
    Kellie

  4. thank you Kellie :)
    so glad you popped by :)

    xx


  5. and breathe me a life
    i’ve given you for free
    so i inhale the oxygen i’ve stolen from myself /
    to fire my synapses
    in this elusive chain reaction /

    i’m lost
    and i have been lost
    all my life /”

    i love these lines. kind of mad me sad, in a good way :]

  6. !! wow

    the first stanza is gorgeously done… very nice :)

  7. “i’m lost
    and i have been lost
    all my life /
    in me,
    in all the things you see,
    in the frozen whiteness all around me /”

    I reread this stanza about 10 times, and each time got something different out of it. Love the way it is so remonstrative of being ‘lost’ in so many different ways. It adds to the poem as whole by emphasizing the mysterious from both the reader AND the narrator’s POV. Love how you did that, very impressive linguistic device. Strong poem, very emphatic narrative.

    crb.

Leave a Reply

