a human obelisk


i’m changing tides,
a river bursting seams;
i’m not afraid of standing still
if i’m the only one not moving.

i douse myself in you, my skin alight
with million dazzling shades of white
and nothing matters: time is swaying here.

i pause my beat for night on night:
we know morality is all there is to care for–

–and then you say mistakes can sparkle in the sun,
i need to run and leave you in my place:
a human obelisk.

18 responses to “a human obelisk

  1. Very compact and effective!

  2. pausing heartbeats never is good. i love your words. x

  3. hey Glittering,
    I really enjoyed this.

  4. “i douse myself in you, my skin alight
    with million dazzling shades of white”

    this speaks so fully of desire, slaked thirst and beauty..

    “I douse myself in you” makes my heart hurt in such a longing way…the most powerful five words I’ve felt.

  5. This is such a good poem! I love it!

  6. After a tiring day, this kind of poem makes me feel at ease.

  7. love love love :)

  8. “i’m changing tides, a river bursting seams”…such a great opening! gorgeous imagery in this piece:)

  9. ahhh, thanks saffron. i’ve grown fascinated with water lately :) xx

  10. “i douse myself in you”

    i see it vividly. and only you can paint that picture. so sweet and soft. :-)

Leave a Reply

